cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Support Pack Upgrade Undo

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I am new to this fascinating world of SAP BASIS professionals and here I am again with my fourth issue. Please give your valuable advise.

The Scenario:

I have an ECC 6.0 ABAP+JAVA system installed. Recently I have upgraded 3 of it's software components, which are follows:

• PI_BASIS 2005_1_700 Level 0009----to-----Level 0010.

• SAP_BASIS 700 Level 0009----to-----Level 0010.

• SAP_ ABA 700 Level 0009----to-----Level 0010.

My Question/Issue:

I have upgraded the above to Level 0010, but now I want to revert them back to Level 0009 (initial level), that is, I want to UNDO the SUPPORT PACK application. Is this possible? If this is possible, then how?

Please Note: I have not taken any database backup before applying this patches, furthermore, my database is in NO ARCHIVE LOG mode.

Help me....

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member191418
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Support package undo is not possible. The only way to go back is restore & recovery (if archive log is on) and only restore if system running in no archive log mode. Since you have no valid backup just before support packages, support packages can not be taken to patchlevel 9.

In your case, check when did you take the last offline backup (since only restore is possible to that point, as archive log mode is off)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply.

FYI, I have just installed the system and after installing it I applied the SGEN. As you know it's recommended to turn the DB into NO ARCHIVE mode during SGEN as it would prevent any sort of ARCHIVER STRUCK issues.

But I didn't take a BACK-UP as of yet (not even offline) due unavailability of space or back-up media. I just skipped this POST-INSTALLATION step.

Thus, in my case is there no way to revert the Components back to their previous levels?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,