cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evaluating SAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am looking at SAP for the first time, for evaluation purposes in the context of logistics and transportation/warehouse management. I am an experienced programmer, whom has been asked to review the SAP development and deployment environment and compare/contrast it with existing tools/solutions that are long established at our company to see what efficiencies it may introduce.

My goal is to get a development/deployment environment up and running as quickly as possible, and see how fast I can become productive. I do not intend to become particularly familiar with the server components, and I don't want to focus on server setup or administration in the least. I want instead to hopefully (?) spin up a pre-built cloud image of the app server, then develop against it u2013 referencing the published API's u2013 and using Eclipse as my IDE. I then want to deploy a sample application to both a Linux and Mac OS X client machine.

I prefer not to learn a new scripting language if a language I know is supported as an alternative (e.g. Java, Python, JavaScript etc.).

Any help from the community in getting up and running would be much appreciated. Also please correct me if anything I have referenced in this post is incorrect as it pertains to the SAP ecosphere.

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Oliver for your comments and suggestions. I will take your advice and dig into the "master guides" to see how to proceed.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello and thanks for your reply.

I am aware of course that SAP is a company, and the company itself including licensing models (and the SAP community and community features) are also under review; I am referring to SAP proper and the ERP system + relevant module when I mention SAP.