cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OLAP Universes - Based on BEx Query - Month and Previous Month Functions

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I created a Universe based on SAP BEx queries and I like to create a filter so that I use in Web Intelligence report to run for "Previous Month" data always. There are "Date" filelds in BEx Query(No Month info only date data). I have no knowledge of SAP BEx Queries and new to OLAP universes. Could you help.

How to create filter that show Previous Month.

Nanda Kishore

Edited by: Nanda Kishore B on Dec 26, 2010 6:15 AM

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

0 Kudos

The easiest way (but NOT the most efficient one) is to create a local variable (Dimension) in your report with the following code:

=if (Month(CurrentDate())=1 AND Month([[MyDate]])=12 AND Year([[MyDate]])=(Year(CurrentDate())-1)) OR (Month(CurrentDate())>1 AND Month([[MyDate]])=(Month(CurrentDate())-1)) then 1 else 0

where MyDate is the field from your query containing the data information

Activate the report filter area in your report design panel by pressing the Report filter icon and drag and drop your variable there and apply it to the entire report. Filter value 1 and you will get the data for the previous month.

Keep in mind that this approach is not optimal especially if you do have many rows of data delivered to your WebI report because filtering takes place only AFTER the data is retrieved. The Best practice here is to work with BEx variables.

How many rows of data does your WebI report normally fetches?

Regards,

Stratos

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Stratos,

Thanks a lot.

I like to create a filter at Universe level. Any ideas how to create these at Universe Level.

There is lot of data and there is a limit of 100 k records at Universe level.

Please provide ideas on how to create a filter at universe level. Creation of these filters is easy if it is Oracle / MS SQL.