Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSO & SAPGUI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am studying how to set up SSO in our SAP landscape. We are currently in SAP netweaver 7.01 Ehp4 but we do not have the SAP portal. We have CUA set up for our project systems. All our users are accessing to SAP through SAPgui interface.

We have as well an Active DIrectory Microsoft but not connected to SAP. (We do not wish to do it if possible due to internal usage restriction)

Each time I find documentation on SSO, it is always describing a solution with a portal or a Web based access configuration.

I have heard of Kerberos (Microsoft ?) + CUA & SAPgui access without portal. Is it possible ?

For SSO :

- Is it possible to SSO without LDAP connection and only CUA ?

- Is CUA mandatory or not to set a SSO ?

Please if you can clarify that for me thanks !

13 REPLIES 13

tim_alsop
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

As you know, SAP GUI for Windows or Java authentication is normally using a userid and password entered by user and stored in SAP user store on ABAP system. The only way to use a different authentication method is to use the SNC support included in SAP GUI and SAP ABAP. The SNC library should support Kerberos, if you want to use it with Active Directory. The user will then logon to Windows domain, open SAP Logon, press the Logon button and will be authenticated to SAP using the credentials obtained during their initial Windows workstation logon.

You do not need CUA, but if you have a complex landscape, the CUA tool can be useful to manage users in SAP systems. This is not a prereq for using SNC with SAP GUi for Kerberos authentication.