cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developing a calculator

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Experts

I'm new in abap webdynpro. For a school project, I want to create a simple BMI (Body Mass Index) Calculator in a webdynpro. For calculating the index, i need to read in the weight and height of the person. Now my problem: I couldn't figure out how to do that. I made a view with an input field on it. But I'm only able to read in strings. I can't calculate with strings. If i use the datatype F, it says that this type isn't supported by the input field. So my first question: How can I read in numbers?

Then for the calculation: Where am I going to do that? In a method? I mean, if I would be able to read in e.g. the weight, where is this value then? In which variable will it be stored in?

So long, I made it to read in a string on a first view and then, on a second view, showing this string after clicking a button on the first view. But I have no clue how to do this with a number.

In the end it should be possible to fill in weight, height and choosing the gender by a radio button. After that, the user will click on a submit button and the webdynpro will calculate it's BMI. On a second view, it will show the result and a message about it.

I hope, someone could help me. I tried now for nearly 6 hours with no success

Kind regards from Switzerland

Michael Schmid

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member186750
Contributor
0 Kudos

Gruetzi Michael,

Please could you ask any further questions you may have in a new thread.

Please also bare in mind that only one question per thread is allowed per the forum rules.

Please don't let this put you off from asking questions though.

Cheers,

Neil.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello

Ok, sorry, I didn't notice that. I thought it would be clearer to keep all in one thread.

Thanks for that info. I will start a new thread.

Regards

Michael

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos