cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data servers connection status -stopped

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello all,

I am new to MII application and i am hoping i could get some help form experts here. I am trying to figure out (from basis side) why the connections for couple of data sources are "stopped" status. we are in 12.x version and checked the JDBC drivers ,they all look deployed. Not exactly sure where else to look, ..if anyone could give me some direction for trouble shooting that willl be great.

thanks,

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi DK MJ

1. First ist to ensure you get the right JDBC - you can search it in Internet; if you are very sure then

2. check if your Connector is IDBC, connector type SQL and the enable is checked and save.

(normally status "stopped" is because the enable is not checked and saved. If status "error" normally configuration error)

3. JDBC driver configuration for SQL 2005/2008 is com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDriver (oracle is oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver)

4. the URL is jdbc:sqlserver://<serverName>:<PortID>;DatabaseName=<DatabaseName> (for both SQL 2005/2008)

and oracle is jdbc:oracle:thin:@<serverName>:<portID>:<DBName>

5. If oracle , in ValidationQuery, leave it blank

6. User Name (should not have /)

Make sure status is running, and then I can show you what you need to do to make sure it is 100% running.

regards

sengkiang

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello all,

In my experience with the status of "Stopped", it usually means the Data Server was not enabled or the incorrect JDBC driver is deployed.

I wanted to clarify the purpose of the Validation Query. The Validation Query is like a scout - when the query is run, the "scout" is sent first, ensuring that the connection is good. If the Validation Query fails, the connection is destroyed and a new connection is created.