cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MII with PI System OSIsoft

Former Member
0 Kudos

Anyone has experience connecting MII with PI System OSIsoft?

I try to connect using UDC. Is this correct? I have entered ip and port but could not get connection.

Any clue?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Seng,

My name is Paul Novak, I am a Technical Support Engineer with OSIsoft. I would like to be able to assist you, to make sure that your PI System is correctly set up and configured, so it can correctly integrate with your other systems. Currently it is not clear what the problem is or if there are any errors, or how I can help.

I encourage you to create a support call at http://techsupport.osisoft.com/MySupport/MyCalls/. If you do, a Tech Support Engineer will be assigned to this issue and will help you until the problem is resolved.

I hope you will take advantage of this resource.

Paul

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all

Thanks for answering.. If possible; at firlst I need to know the POSSIBLE architecture(and requirements) of connecting MII to OSI PI

1. Can I use MII UDC? I just want to connect to UDS of OSI PI.

Aafter reading all the input in the forum, what I understand is that if I need to connect to OSI PI via UDC,

- UDS needs to be installed in a machine (it could be in OSI PI machine), and OSI PI need to be configured to connect to this UDS. And MII will use UDC to connect to this UDS. Am I correct?

- if yes do I need to install PI-SDK in MII machine? I am using MII 12.1 with Netweaver (cant remeber but I guess netweaver 7).

2. Is the other option using OLEDB, where I could do more complex Query to OSI PI?

-WHat do I need to do (both MII and OSI pI) in order to connect with OLEDB?

3. PCO. I know best choice will be PCO. PCO could trigger event to MII, but is choice 1 and 2 also possible???

I really need help. If choice 1 is easy, I would like to test it first. Where can I get UDS ???