cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Business Process

sunilachyut
Contributor
0 Kudos

I am a newbie to XI world and am trying to implement the following. Create a scenario where a HTTP client calls a BAPI (creating a PO) synchronously, wish it would have been the end :). There 3 steps in PO creation, one is to create from one company code to another and create the same quantity and material to a vendor and acknowledge to the web client about the PO creation status.

Since the above is a sequence and a process, I am assuming I have to use BPM capability of XI. If answer is yes, then any business process has to be implemented through BPM, am I right in concluding this?

Am more looking at direction than any particular answers, if anyone can guide me I will find my way out.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions

Sunil Achyut

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

moorthy
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi SUnil,

First of all you need to call one BAPI. And this BAPI has the logic to do other operations right ?

If so then there is no requirement of BPM here.

As both Http or BAPI can act as a Synchronous. SO you can go without BPM here.

Regards,

Moorthy

sunilachyut
Contributor
0 Kudos

Moorthy

Thanks for your quick reply. But if I wrap all my logic in BAPI then there it would become a real big one and moreover there is a sequence in my process:

1) Create a PO from company code A to company code B

2) Create a PO from company code B to vendor

3) On the return an shipping notice would trigger creating a delivery and doing a goods receipt and goods issue for the two PO's created.

Since the above is a business process I was thinking it would be better if I use BPM instead of using a single BAPI for everything. Am I incorrect in my thinking?

Sunil Achyut

moorthy
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

You mean to say you are planning to call 3 BAPIs for each process from XI.