cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Service Variant?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I saw a thread on Service variant and i have same requirement.

The difference is just that in this thread person is using Standard Web service where as for me i am going to create custome web service.

But for my custom Enterprise service, 1 consumer wants just 10 fields out of 100 where as otherone wants all 100 fields as response.

I tried to access link from this thread but it says page can not be displayed that is y i am opening new thread.

I am trying to access the above thread.

Again i need to know that , is this same concept is applicable for the custom web services or not?

Because for me I have to create one custome Enterprise service which will have around 100 fields.

One of the consumer wants just 10 fields where as the otherone wants all the fields as response.

I am new to SOA also so if possible please let me know what all the configuration steps i need to do if i want to use SAP PI also in this? Specially ID steps.

Thanks,

Hetal

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Hetal,

It looks like the link has been removed. Maybe SAP Teched this year will have a feature, not sure.

As far as I know, it's applicable to all web services. I haven't worked with it but just an educated guess, probably minimal deviation from a standard Soap to Proxy scenario if SAP PI is the mediator.

There's almost zero documentation on it & there little that there was looks like it's been rmoved. You could still Google "Service Variants for Lean consumption" & it will return tidbits of info & all referred to as "Planned".

Regards, Trevor

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Trevor,

I tried to find the other day on Google but failed to find anything.

I dont even have idea that you have to do it in ECC or in ESR.