cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating business views from crystal reports

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the Business Objects Enterprise environment. We are currently in the process of setting up the BOE in our landscape. I have a few reports written using crystal reports 2008 based out of SAP function modules to support all our reporting needs. The reports are executed on the client machine as of now. Due to the complexity of the underlying data, it takes a while to load up all the filters in the report since the FM is processed before the filters are displayed.

Is it possible to create business views based out of the current reports stored in the client machine? I would like the underlying report objects to remain intact or do I have to redesign the reports. Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks

Vinnie

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

0 Kudos

Are you accesing an SAP R/3 system. If you do I would recommend to consider using InfoSets for getting the data out of the backend system. The advantage of this method is that you can preselect the data at the R/3 side using InfoSet queries with selection variables.

Regards,

Stratos

Former Member
0 Kudos

It depends how your Crysta Reports in 2008 were designed. If they have common parameters across all the reports then it will be easy to maintan Business Views and without much modifications you can use the reports without issues.

Also, to improve the performance, schedule the LOV's overnight in Business View.

Former Member
0 Kudos

We didn't have a BOE set up initially. So we first created all the reports with the dynamic parameters based out of the function modules.Most of the filters are same through out the reports.