Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access existing table

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am very new to WD development, I am trying to create a WD project which will:

- Accept some parameter

- Read data from a 3rd party database (i.e. Not the SAP system database)

- Display the result

I created the dataSource to the 3rd party database at VA, created a new J2EE DC, and created a entity bean, and trying to map the entity bean to the table.

I get stuck while I try to create the table in the dictionary:

1) It seem that the tables created in the dictionary will create in the DB when deploy, but I am using existing tables

2) I am not sure how the tables in the dictionary relate to the database (I find datasource at EJB side, maybe that's the relation?)

I understand the question is kind of stupid, any pointer for me to study will be more then welcome.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Bill

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Bill,

You can use EJBs or Web services to manipulate (insert/update/delete) the database tables created in java dictionary.

Please go though the following links.

1) )

2) http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/b030e7fb-2662-2b10-0dab-c4aa52c35...? QuickLink=index&overridelayout=true

3) http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/sdn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/webcontent/uuid/80a30ef0-8d5d-2910-e987-cc8e49... [original link is broken]

4) http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/go/portal/prtroot/docs/library/uuid/1f5f3366-0401-0010-d6b0-e85a49e93...

Regards,

Radhika

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Radhika,

Thanks for the reply, this give me some info on the WD development.

But in my case, I am difference from normal development that I am trying to use existing tables (existing table, multi-table for one result, sure read only), but not trying to create some new tables for use.

So, I would like to know what should I do because all the resources I find assume I will create a new table to use.