cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NWDI Landscape Design

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

our first SAP CE NWDI system is in place. Looking at the master guide it tends to suggest that in productive mode there should be an individual CE/NWDI server for Dev, Test & Production.

This confuses me as I'd have thought that I would need possibly only 2 - the first one for Sandbox/Prototype/training type usage with another supporting the traditional BAU Dev>Test>Production which would be handled via the track definitions.

I'm new to CE/NWDI so would like to know why the recommended landscape diagram in the master guide (page 13 of the CE 7.1 Ehp1 master guide) suggests having one CE server for Dev, one for Test & one for Prod.

Would this not involve a lot of development overhead and increased hardware costs etc ?

Regards,

Brian.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

ErvinSzolke
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hi Brian,

indeed the guide is a bit confusing but I believe it is only about runtime systems. On the diagram you have pointed out on page 13 the NWDI domain is not displayed, it only explaines, that while in the individual development scenario you have only a developer workplace installed locally on your PC and you can do development (without NWDI). Additionally other developers can also develop in the way, that they have no local engine on their laptop, only an NWDS, and they deploy to the engine hosted on the machine where the developer workplace is installed, but again, this is for individual development, no NWDI is involved here.