cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Universities work together?

Former Member
0 Kudos

While I was reading u201CWith this challenging economy...will customers use BI to track customers? u201C thread I started thinking about BI course and the material students cover at University of Texas at Dallas, where I am currently a student. But in just few seconds I realized that the answer is not as simple as it might first appear. What students learn and in what extend they cover the material that can give them a good idea what BI (and not only) is and what can be done with it is a question that probably will have different answers from the different universities.

Really the SAP courses that are offered in Universities are great and will give students good understanding and introduction. What I think students will not be able to get is a deep understanding of the processes of different modules and integration between them.

SAP is a very big and broad to be covered in one course that is why we usually learn module by module. Still, without any further digging into the system if they count on the material in class only, they will not get the whole picture. We have such a great examples, cases and exercises, that explain a given functionality (or practice in business) in details. Do you think that one course for one module is enough? A material master for example has thousands of settings and in class we get introduced to couple of them combined in one or two scenarios. There are plenty of others not covered.

Certification programs are a great help here, but still they are limited. A great option for students would be to be able to take certification programs online (I believe that is possible for some of the Universities located in UK, Germany and Australia only). Some of the students are serious about SAP and are ready to learn more.