cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to record Real Delivery Dates to Customers?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi I am working in the supply chain department of medium sized company, but I am not an SD expert (not even close), but I got a "can't do" answer I would like to discuss with you in this forum.

I am trying to monitor real delivery dates to customers so I can get a real feel of how much time it takes from the day the Sales order is entered in the system to the day it is received by the customer.

I was told by our inhouse SD experts that they do not know a way to record in our SAP ERP 6.0 when a product was really delivered to a customers so we have to rely only in the date the product left the warehouse

As you could imagine I am not happy with that answer, so if you could please let me know whether one can o cannot record such information on the systems (and if yes, how can I pouint SD people to the right place)

Thanks in advance

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Just to add to the above suggestions, which are certainly options to consider, you can usually get the delivery date to the customer from carriers like UPS, FedEX or any other carrier (provided you use a 3rd party carrier for delivery to customers). These carriers can provide the date via a file in the requested format and you can use this information to update the shipment document or create a POD for the delivery.

RB.

Edited by: what the.... on Sep 1, 2010 11:31 AM

Lakshmipathi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos
they do not know a way to record in our SAP ERP 6.0 when a 
    product was really delivered to a customers

First of all, I have a doubt as to whether you want to capture the date on which the products are received by your customer or the date on which, the goods left the factory.