Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Message-Split in a Sync Scenario

jrg_neumann
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello Experts.

As i am quite new to Pi, i have some problems with an integration scenario we are about to implement. As i am not really into the topic, i do'nt even know, if the prefered solution can be implemented in PI or if our current approach is nonsense after all.

The currently preferred solution would look like this:

1.) The sender system collects the data and sends one message using a synchronous webservice call

2.) PI splits the message into n parts (one outgoing message per receiving system), sends the message-parts synchronously to the receiving systems, collects the response messages into one big message and sends this message as the response message for the webservice-call, the sender system made.

3.) The sender system receives the response message and updates the database.

The problem is, that i have no clue how to do a message-split in a Sync scenario. I already experimented with a message-split in Async scenarios and everything worked fine, but i have no idea, how to do the trick in a Sync scenario.

As the incoming message represents a table (only one kind of element; occurence 0...unbounded), i would have to do the following:

1.) Split the incoming message line by line (or childnode by childenode)

2.) Collect the lines for the single receiver systems (each receiver should get only one message)

3.) Send the messages

4.) receive the results

5.) Join the results into one response message / Handle timeouts, if a receiver could not be reached in time

6.) Send the response message to the sender system