cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling methods of using parent controller

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I have a master component A and have declared couple of methods as interface methods. in this component i dynamically do component usage B. i want to know if there is a way that component B can call the interface methods of its parent component A at runtime? I did not find any documentation on how to get the reference of current component (parent component A) interface and send it to used component.

any guidance is appreciated.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Chris,

Thanks for your response, this looks like the only way.

ChrisPaine
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Prashant,

Component A is not a used component of component B - so component B will not be able to address it. You could find ways around this by passing a reference of component A in your call - but it probably wouldn't be good practice.

Instead, think about raising an event in component B and listening for this in component A. The event listener could update the context which component B could then reference. This way component B remains agnostic about which component is calling it. (could be component C for example and you do not get the case where component B tries to call a non-existent method in the calling component.).

This is the way that other used components communicate with their parents - think of freely programmed value helps as an example.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

Chris

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Chris,

can you please send sample code on how to pass reference of master controller interface to the component B (used component).

ChrisPaine
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

I previously said that it was probably bad practice to do that - so I'm not going to encourage bad coding practice by explaining how to implement it!