cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Log File becomes very big, What's the best practice to handle it?

Former Member
0 Kudos

The log of my production Database is getting very big, and the harddisk is almost full, I am pretty new to SAP, but familiar with SQL Server, if anybody can give me advice on what's the best practice to handle this issue.

Should I Shrink the Database?

I know increase hard disk is need for long term .

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

We had the same issue.

You will need to backup the database first - probbaly to a network location. Use the MS SQL Server Management studio and run a backup routine. Once complete, you can then run the "shrink" function from there as well.

Once you have reduced it to manageable size, you need to create a backup routine and shrink routine. Ours is done hourly, but tahts uits us - you may need to work out what time frame is best for you.

former_member524429
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Please refer the following SAP Notes for your situation.

[SAP Note 421644 - SQL error 9002: The transaction log is full|https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/421644]

[SAP Note 625546 - Size of transaction log file is too big|https://service.sap.com/sap/support/notes/625546]

The possible solutions with detail are well mentioned in the above mentioned SAP Notes.

Regards,

Bhavik G. Shroff

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Finkie!

I will recommend to make hourly trasnaction log backup and full backup twice a day or according your company backup policy.

SAP and MS also recommending to have trasnaction log backup hourly instead of Shrink trancation log backup.

Regards

Anwer Waseem

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Finke,