cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BEx/BW 3.5 with Office 2010

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

We will soon upgrade configurations to Windows 7 and Office 2010.

I am just an admin and I try to know now the impacts on users using BEx 3.5 (our BW servers are still running on BW 3.5).

I have read that users should run SAP GUI 7.20 to make BEx work with Office 2010.

Is that correct ?

Users currently run on SAP GUI 7.10 and I have also read that there is a Technical Match between SAP GUI 7.10 FEP 9 and SAP GUI 7.20 FEP 1.

What does that mean ? Could users run BEx with Office 2010 by keeping SAP GUI 7.10 ?

This question is important for us as deploying SAP GUI 7.20 on all users' PCs would be a big job.

Thanks for your help.

Regards,

John

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member188011
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi John:

Please refer to SAP Note 1461046 - "SAPBWNews NW2004 / BW 3.5 Add-On FrontEnd Patch 01 - GUI7.20"

Regards,

Francisco Milán.

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you all for your help !

Is there also a list of prerequisites to install this BEx 3.5 with SAP GUI 7.20, like Microsoft .NET Framework or other things ?

Is SAP GUI 7.20 Patch 1 enough to run BEx 3.5 with SAP GUI 7.20 ?

Are there already a patch level for Office 2010 to reduce bugs with BEx 3.5 ?

Regards,

John

Derek_Fox
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi John

There is an OSS Note regarding the pre-requisites for SAP GUI.

However I have my own checklist of software required for a PC/Laptop regardless whether SAP GUI is installed or not:

1. Latest patches/updates for Microsoft Operating System, i.e for Vista/Windows

2. Latest patches/updates for Microsoft Office, i.e for 2007/2010

3. Latest patches/updates for Microsoft .NET Framework (2.0, 3.0, 3.5)

4. Latest patches/updates for Microsoft J# .NET 2.0 Runtime (if working with SAP BW Precalculation Service for compressing workbooks)