cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Populating Drop Down Lists

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to WebDynpro for Java and looking for some direction in populating down lists based on the selection of another drop down list.

In a simple case, I have two items in the primary list (Maintenance and Personnel). Depending on what is selected I want to populate a second dropdown list with (MaintReason1, MaintReason2 or PersonnelReason1, PersonnelReason2). I have been looking for some sample code on how to do this but so far have been unsuccessful. I would appreciate any help.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

former_member286976
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello William,

Just to add to my previous post.

You must add two dropdown in your view and bind the first dropdown to Attrib1 of Node1 and bind the second one to Attrib2 of Node2.

Regards,

Sudeep.

former_member286976
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hello William,

As per my understanding your requirement is to do context based filtering in your application; say you have two drop down list in your application, based on the country selected in the first dropdown, you want to display the corresponding states for the country.

To achive this create the following structure in your web dynpro context.

Context
   |-Node1 (cardinality: 0..n, singleton; true)
       |-Attrib1
       |-Node2 (cardinality: 0..n, singleton; false)
           |-Attrib2

Write the logic to put data in the created nodes. Sample code given below.

IWDNode n1 = wdContext.nodeNode1();
	  IWDNodeElement ne = n1.createAndAddElement();
	  ne.setAttributeValue("Attrib1","Country1");
	  n1.setLeadSelection(ne.index());

IWDNode n2 = n1.getChildNode("Node2",n1.LEAD_SELECTION);
	  IWDNodeElement neX = n2.createAndAddElement();
	  neX.setAttributeValue("Attrib2","State1");

IWDNode n1T = wdContext.nodeNode1();
	  IWDNodeElement neT = n1T.createAndAddElement();
	  neT.setAttributeValue("Attrib1","Country2");