cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Populating second table from OnSelect of first table

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am new to ABAP Webdynpro. I have a requirement to show a search area, one table for header info, and second table for populating item level information.

I was successful building a search area and populating first table when the 'Search' button is pressed.

Now, I like to populate the second table with item details if a row on first table is selected. I tried to bind the OnSelect Event of first table to a method and try to get the results and bind to second table.. However, I am unsuccessful in this attempt.

Here are my questions/challenges.

1. When I select a row on first table, how can I extract the key information?

2. Is it sufficient to create a context attribute and populate it with FM and bind that with second table?

I appreciate your help in answering this question.

Thanks,

SG

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

If I can go ito basis of WDA ... if you want to populate a different table on click of the colum or row of your first table you need to write a "Supply Function " which gets called automatically whenever you select the line item in your first table as pe context node properties.

So create your second table node as a child node of the first.

Hope this will help you.

Thanks

Pradeep

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

arjun_thakur
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

When I select a row on first table, how can I extract the key information?

I had a similar requirement in my project. You can refer this thread for it:

Is it sufficient to create a context attribute and populate it with FM and bind that with second table?

I think you should get the ouput from FM in an internal table, bind that internal table to the node which you have binded with your second table.

I hope it helps.

Regards

Arjun

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,