Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Few questions about backing up

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

i'm new to SAP and MaxDB and i have some questions:

1) When i perform a Complete Backup, does the data from log volumes archived automatically to this backup?

I did a test. I have created a new database, then in SQL Studio i have created a new table and added there some records. I saw, that after this log area is used in 30%. Then i did complete backup. Nothing has changed. Next, i did a recovery for this Complete backup with initialization (to delete the entries from log volumes). After this, i could see all records and tables that i have created before - i thought it will be lost. Why it happen like this?

2) Let's assume this situation:

I have backups:

10.07.2010 Complete1

11.07.2010 Log1

12.07.2010 Complete2

13.07.2010 Log2

And on 14th i have a database crash. So, if i wan't to recover db to 13.07.2010 do i need Log1 backup, or only Complete2 and Log2? Can i delete Log1 after i do Complete2?

What's is in case that i have mirrored log volumes and i have actuall log volumes files? Can i import it somehow? Or should i import Complete2, Log2 and then replace Log Volumes Files?

3) How can i check Log backup using DB13? Every day on 08.00 i have scheduled log backup, files are created without errors, but when i'm trying to check them, i recieve error wrong_hostfile. I checked permissions to that file, all looks good.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

If you could also answer those two more questions:

1) Assume this situation:

15.07.2010 04:00 Complete Backup

15.07.2010 15:00 Log Backup

16.07.2010 04:00 Complete Backup

16.07.2010 15:00 Log Backup

And now question: