Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create documents in SAP R/3 through XI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi!

I'm new to XI, and I have the following scenario:

An external application needs to post documents in SAP R/3 by internet, sending the information needed to post the documents in XML format. It also needs to receive information if the documents were successfully posted or not.

What do I need in XI to make this possible? Do I need anything more than XI? I keep hearing

Thanks a lot!

Nuno Umb.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

moorthy
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

First of all you need to know the Source System Informations like - What type of Applications, Format of the data etc. Depend on that you need to make XI configuration.

Also you need to know, how SAP R/3 will receive the messages ? As per the post you required in XML format ?

There are 3 standard ways XI can communicated with R/3.

Idocs,RFCs, ABAP proxy.

So you need to get Source system information and Target system information.

Then you can go for Design(Mapping etc) and configuration.

Regards,

Moorthy

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi.

Independently of the type of application and format of the data, the Source System may communicate with XI directly by internet, right?

Thanks,

Nuno Umb.

Former Member
0 Kudos

<i>Independently of the type of application and format of the data, the Source System may communicate with XI directly by internet, right?</i>

Source Systems communicate with XI through some type of adapters/proxies. So whether do you want to adapter-less communcation or adapter communication, and if it is adapter communication, what type of adpaters are used for communication depends on your source system and type of message/protocol.

To answer your question, you can defintely send your XML docs to R/3 through XI over internet.