cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practices for ASAP Inputs - As-Is Business Process Mapping

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to the SAP world and my company is in the early phases of implementation. I am trying to prepare the "as-is" business process maps for the Project Preparation and Business Blueprint phases and I am looking for some best practices. I've been told that we don't want them to go too deep but are there best practices and/or examples that give more information on what we should be capturing and the format.

I have searched the forums, WIKI, ASAP documentation, and other areas but have not found much at this level of detail. I have reviewed the [SAP BPM Methodology|http://wiki.sdn.sap.com/wiki/display/SAPBPX/BPM+Methodology] but again I am looking for more detail if anyone can direct me to that.

Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Kevin

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Kevin,

You can try to prepare a word document for each of your As-Is processes first before going to As-Is Process Design in a flowchart.

The word document can have 7 sections -

The first section can include Name of the Process Owner, Designation, Process Responsibility, User Department(s) involved, Module Name and a Document number for reference.

The second section can include Process Definition details - Name of the major process, Name of the minor process, Name of the sub process and a Process ID for future reference.

The third section can be titled as Inputs - this contains details of - Input, Vendor for the input, Type of Input (Data / Activity / Process), Category of Input (Vital / Essential / Desirable) and Mode of Information (Hard / Soft Copy).

The fourth section can be Process Details. Here you can write the process in detail.