cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Netweaver mobile 7.1 and smartphone applications

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

Im very new to SAP mobile applications. I have experience in developing applications using Webdynpro for ABAP. My queries are:

1. If i have a webdynpro application can i launch it on smartphones?

2. Why do we need a seperate SAP netweaver mobile 7.0 or 7.1 when we can design Webdynpro applications from earlier versions too.

3. Why did SAP merged SYBASE to implement mobile applications when already we have netweaver mobile.

4. How to start a application which can be tested on Blackberry 9630 simulator. Do we need to follow some guidelines?

Thanks and Regards,

Asif.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member206242
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

a) SAP Netweaver Mobile 7.1 supporst mobile applications for Windows Mobile smart phones & handhelds.

b) Normal webdynpro applications can not be directly used on mobile/PDA. You need to model mobile applications using the mobile perspective for handheld which is based on a lighter version of webdynpro for rendering & execution on an actual PDA.

c) SAP-Sybase solution is an asset for developing mobile application for various different mobile platforms/devices. SAP netweaver mobile as of now only supports windows mobile.

Regards,

Nipun

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Nipun,

As you said it will support only windows mobiles, is there any way in middleware were we can launch application on Blackberry.

Can you eloborate on sybase means where exactly it sits in this netweaver and what are its advatages.

Regards,

Asif.

former_member206242
Active Participant
0 Kudos

You can see this and other articles on SDN related to this:

/people/ramprasadh.kothandaraman/blog/2010/06/01/sap-sybase-co-innovation-platform-for-enterprise-mobility