cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mdm doc

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All

I am new in sap mdm ,and my background is sap xi ,now i started learn to MDM , So i am confused some basic mdm term like----

Syndicator

Console

Import manger

Data manager

And what is difference between Main table and lookup Table

Thanks

pankaj

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Pankaj

MDM console, Data manager, Import and Syndication Manager are the different components of SAP MDM.

Apart from the above four components we also have servers like MDS, MDIS and MDSS. to get a proper understanding on different components and MDM scenarios please refe to the MDM wiki-

http://wiki.sdn.sap.com/wiki/display/SAPMDM/SAPMasterData+Management

You can also refer to help.sap.com which is a good start point-

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_mdm300/helpdata/EN/2d/ca9b835855804d9446044fd06f4484/frameset.htm

Diff between Main table and Looup table-

If we take examples Master data objects in ECC are stored in multiple tables. Material has MARA/MARC/MVKE.. which is main table and the reference tables like Unit of Measures, Material Type, Group etc are modeled as Lookup tables in MDM.

thanks-Ravi

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Pankaj,

The main role is:

Console: Administration purpose

Import Manager: We will write rules or check for condition before you import your master data from other systems.

Data Manager: you can view or change master data

Syndicator: Used to send master data to other systems.

Main table is where your master data is located. Lookup table is where you have multiple values for the field like currency is a field but it might have values like USD, EUR, INR etc. So these values are stored in the lookup table. This is same like doing rfc or jdbc lookup for a field in xi.

The best thing would be do a search in SDN and you have doucments on all these.

Regards,

Satish

Former Member
0 Kudos