cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evolution of SAP Netweaver

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to this SAP Netweaver platform.I have come from Java background and currently engaged in SAP EP.To me SAP is an ERP system consisting huge number modules.SAP can be run in simple client server mode.Like I have a client installed in my system for a specific module which communicates to an SAP server.This can also be resolved by making the client browser compliant.Now I think earlier version of SAP worked like this.Now please enlighten me what SAP Netweaver provides.How has SAP Netweaver evolved from its predecessor ? When does a company opt for implementing SAP Netweaver?

Though this seems to be very basic question but still i am not able to get any document that can help beginners like me. Please also try to provide documents or urls that can resolve my question.

Saptarshi

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

>SAP is an ERP system.

Wrong ! SAP is a software company which sells many different application softwares. SAP ERP is one of them like CRM, SRM, PI, EP and so on.

Netweaver is a technology platform on which the application softwares run.

In fact there are 2 different Netweavers : The ABAP Netweaver Application Server and the J2EE Netweaver Application Server which are also called the ABAP stack and the Java stack.

Some application softwares need only one stack (ECC6 needs the abap stack, EP needs the Java stack), some needs both stacks like PI.

You can get an overview of the Netweaver architecture for both stacks here :

[http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw70ehp1/helpdata/en/48/c43a46ca64581de10000000a42189c/frameset.htm]

Regards,

Olivier

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Thanks Olivier !

So it offers more than ERP solution.

That means all these applications (ERP,CRM, SRM, PI, EP) can be integrated on Netweaver platform.

Can we integrate any non SAP product on Netweaver platform?