Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding ESW and WS concepts

former_member198060
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello,

I would like to start some experiments with Web Services and PI.

But as usual it is quite hard to get a grip if you don't know where to start.

I have read some documents and threads but I am a little bit confused now, maybe you can help me to clear things up:

1) ESW

As far as I understood, the ES Workplace is a tool to review and test SAP delivered Webservice interfaces.

Is this correct?

Also it seems possible somehow to download and deploy a webservice to PI from ESW (in addition to creating the WS yourself by the top down or bottom up approach).

How is this done? What I wonder, and please correct me if I am wrong, because I am only a beginner in the SAP environment:

Let's say there is some SAP standard WS to offer customer data via a WS call. Now in my ECC system I have some Z fields in the customer master. Could I download the standard SAP WS and enhance it to also show my Z fields when somebody tries to call my WS?

And do I need to manage endpoints and so on manually when I import a WS from ESW or is it done automatically somehow by PI?

2) WS Registry

How do I access the WS registry of PI to browse through the published Webservices? And are Webservices published there automatically or do I have to do it manually when they are deployed to PI?

Are WS labeled when you add them to the registry so that you could for example enter "customer" in some search field and it would return all WS that are labeled with the label "customer" in the registry?

3) Composite applications

How is orchestration of WS done on PI nowadays? I have tried with the composition environment and the visual composer which seems to be pretty easy, but what other ways are there? Is BPM from PI also being used to orchestrate webservices?