cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Netweaver Implementation on i5/OS (DB4) Query

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts,

We are implementing SAP on DB2 UDB Database on i5/OS.

Since I am new to i5/ OS, I would like to get familiar with this environment.

1- I would like to know what is substitue for the below 4 commands used in i5/ OS.

1- vmstat

2- iostat

3- top

4- netstat in Unix OS

2- Also what is the subsitute for the below 7 filesystems used in i5/ OS.

In Unix we have

1- /usr

2- /etc

3- /usr/bin , /usr/sbin

4- /dev, /boot, /lib

5- /home

6- /opt etc.

7- /var

3- Where are the temporary files stored in i5/OS.

4- How can I specify the env variables in i5/ OS.

5- In Unix, we have root user, what is the substitute to root user in i5/OS.

6- I have worked with DB2 database on AIX 5.1. How is DB2 database different on i5/ OS compared to AIX OS?

7- Can anyone kindly provide me OSS Notes, a URL containing i5/ OS Documentation and i5/ OS Admin activities.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Thanks & Regards,

Imran

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hi Imran,

there is a class ADM525 available, that is dealing with all the aspects of running SAP on IBM i (or i5/OS). Usually this class is offered by IBM, not by SAP, so you should check with IBM for the availability of this class. If you enter "CALL QP2TERM" or "QSH" on an IBM i command line, you get a Unix-type shell that might be more familiar to you. However, this is only a shell, not a fully implemented Unix.

Now to your questions:

Q1: I would like to know what is substitue for the below 4 commands used in i5/ OS.

A1: The netstat command also exists on IBM i (i5/OS), for the other commands no direct equivalents exist. Some of the information is available through commands like WRKSYSSTS, WRKDSKSTS, WRKACTJOB and the Performance Tools product.

Q2: Also what is the subsitute for the below 7 filesystems used in i5/ OS.