cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Item Category Determination during Sales Order Creation

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear All,

This is Chee Wee, i'm new to SD, i would like to seek for an advice for the topic related to Item Category in Sales Order.

We have a material "Mat005" define as "Stocked" Item category in MM03,

*Stocked means our MM team will always keep stock for the material.

The document Item category assigned to this "Stocked" are "NoPo" --> No Auto Po creation and "AuPO" --> AutoPo creation.

During the SO creation for Mat005 with Qty50 and warehouse stock availale for 60, i'm wondering when i select the itemCat "AuPO", the system automatic changed to "NoPO", but when i change the order qty to 70, then i'm able to changed the itemcat to "AuPo"!!

Can any Guru advice me what is the actual setting or configuration behind to determine which are the correct Item Category that i can choose?

Thank you very much,

Regards,

Chee Wee

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Lakshmipathi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Whatever item category you maintain under the tab "DfItC" in VOV4, for your sale order type, that will be defaulted in sale order. If you want to change this in sale order, you maintain the same under the tab "MItCa".

thanks

G. Lakshmipathi

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Closed

former_member204513
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Chee Wee,

Basically tem category will determine based on these key combination

Item category group(Material master)+Sales document type(We enter doc type in the creation initial screen)--->Item category

For Example NORM+OR--->TAN.

As per your explanation

I hope In your case stock availability also one of the factor in the item category determination.This might have done some enhancement.

There are two item categories in your process one is "NoPo" --> No Auto Po creation and second one is "AuPO" --> AutoPo creation.