cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem in MSCS fail over

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Sorry for posting this here but I have a problem in two MSCS clusters 2003 and got very confused. First I want to tell the story and the original problem and then will need opinions and experiences from any one who can share something interesting.

We installed a NW 7.0 in a Windows 2003 Cluster following the Installation guide from SAP and we probably made a mistake but need to read it here because SAP has not given us a convincing answer so really need your help. As many of you know and we discovered, installation for 7.0 is very different from 6.40 when installing in MSCS because SPOF's are installed now in shared resources and Applications servers are installed locally.

The problem that started all this is that when doing fail over from Node A to Node B everything works fine, it takes around 20 seconds to move and then you can access ABAP and Java with no problem. BUT when returning fail over from Node B to node A then after all resources moved then dispatcher fails and the error we found in the logs is that

DP_FATAL_ERROR => DpMsAttach: incorrect value for SAPLOCALHOST

We oppened an OSS to SAP because this is a Productive system that is not yet live in production and after three weeks that they asked to take a look at SAP notes about vitual names and their uses in MSCS. After that time another SAP processor from development team entered the system and told us that installing application servers using SAP group virtual name is not supported so we should reinstall CI and DI so everything could be in working order. His explanation is that when coming from Node B to node A as CI is not up and the virtual hostname is not in node A then dispatcher cannot start. He changed to physical host names and the fail over worked fine.