cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DB SHUTDOWN - Savepoint/illegal_page_appr

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear All Experts,

I've a MaxDB running Database Manager 7.6 which occassional shutdown on its own during the backup.

Error message from knldiag.err

2010-04-25 22:30:01 0x10D4 ERR 55012 FBM invalid devno(0) or offset(0)

2010-04-25 22:30:01 0x10D4 ERR 52050 SHUTDOWN savepoint/illegal_page_addr

2010-04-25 22:30:03 0x10D4 ERR 52050 SHUTDOWN *** EMERGENCY ***: 9170

I'm running a daily complete backup at 2230.

I couldn't find any useful information for errors "savepoint/illegal_page_addr" in the SDN as well as google.

I studied the history of this errors, which occured quite frequently and most of the time, it only happened on Sat or Sun, started last year Nov 09 till Jan 10 but it stopped until yesterday where it happened again.

The error message is exactly the same.

If there is a problem with the backup or even the backup script, the issue would have happened everyday right?

There is no specific backup jobs that we are running on the weekend to cause the random crashed.

Any ideas / suggestions?

Thanks alot in-advance!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

> I've a MaxDB running Database Manager 7.6 which occassional shutdown on its own during the backup.

>

> Error message from knldiag.err

>

> 2010-04-25 22:30:01 0x10D4 ERR 55012 FBM invalid devno(0) or offset(0)

> 2010-04-25 22:30:01 0x10D4 ERR 52050 SHUTDOWN savepoint/illegal_page_addr

> 2010-04-25 22:30:03 0x10D4 ERR 52050 SHUTDOWN *** EMERGENCY ***: 9170

Hi there,

looks like the list of pages to be backed up in the free block management got corrupted somehow.

I'd try to run a CHECK DATA WITH UPDATE to rebuild the converter and the free block management lists.

Afterwards the backup should run through without problems.

regards,

Lars

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Lars,

Thanks for your promptly response!