cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Web service for User Management / UME?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi experts,

i am a newbie, i am not sure either this has been asked before or it's the right place to ask this question, please excuse me.

my company recently started to use sap netweaver portal, and want sync users and roles between it and legacy systems. those system are ms .net based.

i wonder if there are built-in web service for user management (like create user, assign roles, edit, delete) that come with netweaver portal and where i can find out the documents for it?

thank you guys.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Erv,

Users are stored in NW database and to my knowledge there is no webservice for synchronising users.

And if there is indeed webservices for this I'd be interested to know too! You can still do mass import and export (see the link)

Nevertheless, what you may want to do is either using the users which are defined for ECC and then use this ABAP directory as a source for your users, or use LDAP in order to provide your user source.

One important point is that the same users can not be coming from two different sources. So take 5 mins to think about it.

Assuming you are on NW CE 7.11:

[http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nwce711core/helpdata/en/45/a3c3f043cb0cf0e10000000a114a6b/frameset.htm]

Cheers,

Arnaud

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Arnaud,

thanks for the reply.

let's say i m not trying to sync users between two places. i m trying to find out a way to create new users in the sap portal using a programatic way.

and i did some search and then i find a web service called:

"http://<server>:<port>/irj/servlet/prt/soap/UMWebService?Wsdl"

from the structure of it, i can see there an operation called "modifyuser", however i m not able to test this wsdl either using the "Web Service Navigator" or "SoapUI"

when i put the address in Web Service Navigator, it says: