cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very, Very Basic ? From a Newbie

Former Member
0 Kudos

Please be nice - I am very new to SAP - like 1-2 days in a demo. I have searched all over but can't find a finite answer to this question. I have been placed on a strategic project to see if MDM would be beneficial to implement as an standard catalog.

Can MDM data be directly accessed from SAP applications (like building a sales order)? So if I build a catalog in MDM can SAP ERP use it or does that data have to be imported in into another table within the ERP system? It says data can be mapped to objects in the ERP - but everything is an object in SAP...

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Sophie,

Basically MDM is all about Data Cleansing,deduplication and mapping.you take data from legacy systems or R3 and in MDM you clean it,remove duplicates and then store data back to the systems which can be anything say R3 again or seabel etc.So MDM is about managing data.Generally in MDM access to data by End User is done through portals for which you need Enterprise Portals.Portals helps u to view data and modify it after needed authorization checks.

Also MDM after mapping the DATA sends it to the other system by XI or any other Interfaces .

Plese mark helpful Answers

regards

Vinay

Answers (6)

Answers (6)

Former Member
0 Kudos

OK one more question, if you don't mind.

Is this scenario possible? I have a sales order process in SAP ERP that is already using something like MM. I want sometimes (magic here) to use the catalog in MDM. So can the application send the item # to MDM (through XI) and then have all the required fields be returned (back through XI)to fill in the fields of the item attributes on the sales order in the SAP ERP system?

I hope this makes sense. You are very nice for taking the time to answer my questions.

Former Member
0 Kudos