cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visual Basic 6 and Crystal Reports 2008

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, sorry this is my first time and I am not sure if I am in the correct area.

I am trying to determine the correct project reference to use With Visual Basic 6 and Crystal Reports 2008.

I readin the form " that I have to use the ReportDocument object model.

I need to use the .openreport yet first need the proper Project Reference and Declarations

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,

Tim

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Tim,

You can not use CR2008 with VB6. The COM based developer components that used to integrate with VB6 have been retired.

You can use the Crystal Reports .NET components and Visual Studios to create Windows or Web applications. The Crystal Reports .NET SDK uses the ReportDocument object.

You'll find "getting started" information at the beginning of the "[.NET Development - Crystal Reports|;" forum. If you have any questions about the Crystal Reports .NET SDK please post additional questions in that forum.

Also, please do not cross post the same question to multiple forums. See the [Rule of Engagment|http://wiki.sdn.sap.com/wiki/x/FgQ] for additional information.

Sincerely,

Dan Kelleher

Former Member
0 Kudos

Daniel,

Thanks so much for your detailed and quick reply.

Tim

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have to do some work in Visual Basic 6. Would I then use Crystal Reports XI instead of 2008?

Thanks, TIm

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Tim,

Yes, if you need to work with VB6 you can use the Report Designer Component (RDC) that is part of CR XI (v11.0) or CR XI R2 (v11.5). Getting started information for the RDC is posted at the beginning of the [Legacy Application Development SDKs|; forum.

If you have specific questions about the RDC please post questions to that forum.

Sincerely,

Dan Kelleher

Former Member
0 Kudos