Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting to an ITS service failed

vipin_v2
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am very new to ITS technology!

We have two systems 1) BW and 2) EP (Enterprise Portal). We access applications present in BW via EP through SSO (single sign on). Recently couple of our BW applications through EP got in accessable and received an error message as "Connect to SAP

gateway failed Connect_PM DEST=..., GWHOST=... GWSERV=..., ASHOST=...,

SYSNR=... LOCATION CPIC (TCP/IP) on local host ERROR max no of 100

conversations exceeded".

To solve it i went through the SAP note: 316877 which speaks about the same and provides the below solution:

The problem is caused by too many open RFC connections. There are the

following options to fix this:

1. Reduce ~timeout on the ITS machine to enforce the automatic

termination of unused sessions.

2. Configure ITS, SAP gateway and ITS to support more RFC connections.

Please apply the following steps in the given order until the problem

is resolved:

a) Set environment variable CPIC_MAX_CONV to a value > 100 on the ITS

server and reboot the system.

b) Increase the profile value gw/max_conn and gw/max_sys on the SAP

gateway to support more parallel connections. If you run into

memory bottlenecks also increase gw/max_overflow_size and

gw/max_shm_req.

c) Increase the profile values rdisp/tm_max_no and

rdisp/max_comm_entries on the application server.

Now i have the following query as :

which among BW and EP is the ITS server where i need to make the above changes.

Thanks In Advance,

Vipin.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

The first question is do you use integrated or standalone ITS?