cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between attributes and fields?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to SAP Master Data Management.

Can anybody please explainl me what is the difference between attributes and fields?? in simple words with examples.

PS: Studied materials could not understand any.

Thanks and Regards,

Ahamed.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ahamed,

A field is created in MDM Console and applies to all of the records in an MDM repository. By contrast, an attribute is created and linked in the MDM Client (Data Manager) in Taxonomy mode and applies just to records in categories to which the attribute is linked.

I have mentioned some difference between Field and Attributes, below:

1. Field: represents a schema change, so the MDM repository must be unloaded to add a field. Attribute: does not represent a schema change; the MDM repository must be loaded to link an attribute.

2. Field: category-independent; applies to all main table records. Attribute: category-specific; applies just to main table records in categories to which the attribute is linked; cannot be linked to the taxonomy root.

3. Field: appear in schema order and cannot be hidden in the Record Detail tab. Attribute: appear in priority order in the Record Detail tab u2013 and can be hidden entirely u2013 on a per category basis based on the link priority.

4. Field: included in both the Records grid and Record Detail tab; always of interest even with large record sets. Attribute: not included in Records grid; included in Record Detail tab only for the selected records; generally of interest only when you select a single or several main table records.

5. Field: there is no field type for representing two-dimensional data. Attribute: there is a coupled numeric attribute which is used for representing two-dimensional data.