cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database backup on local disk

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I have installed new system having ERP 6.0 with EHP1 on AIX 6.1 and Oracle 10.2.0.4. I want to upgrade this system to EHP4, but before starting upgrade I need to take backup and presently my client doesn't have tape drive / library option for backup. So I have to take backup on local disk (/backupSAP directory) which is almost having 100GB allocated space)

I am new to Unix, I am not aware about the backup option on disk. I already did the same option in Windows by using BRBACKUP and changing some settings in initSAP.<SID> file.

Can anybody please guide me the detailed procedure to fulfill my requirements, as I need to start this upgrade as soon as possible.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Ramesh

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All, The note 948294 is really useful one.

Thanks to all.

Regards,

Ramesh.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I become successful in taking offline backup, but I got following problems

1. Unable to take offline backup when SAP is running.

- Brtools is unable to stopdb

2. Unable to take online backup

- log is showing

"cp /oracle/SID/sapdata2/sr3_1/sr3.data1 /sapbackup/bectbizf/sr3.data1 failed"

I changed ownership of my /sapbackup directory from root to oraSID:dba, I provided full permission to this folder also.

I tried to execute above command manually then system saying invalid parameter line..even I can't copy this data file to tmp directory also. I tried to copy by root, sidadm and orasid but no success.

Finally I stopped SAP, then I executed offline backup...then brtool started the backup activity.

But this process doesn't make sence while considering first problem.

I am unable to track...why brtools is unable to stopdb for offline backup and why I am unable to take online backup.