cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP MDM Console

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm new to MDM Console. Can anyone please tell me how can I, from SAP MDM Console restrict a particular user from <u>viewing</u> specific records in MDM Data Manager.

Thanking you in advance.

Hemal

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Look at the following blog regarding Masks.

<a href="/people/sap.user72/blog/2005/08/29/brief-introduction-to-masks-in-mdm-55

Thanks and Regards

Subbu

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Subbu. I'm able to give the constraint.

Hemal

Former Member
0 Kudos

I can give the constraints to records. Is it possible from SAP MDM Console to restrict a particular user from viewing specific <u>Fields</u> in MDM Data Manager.

Thanking you in advance.

Hemal

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

You can achieve this using Masks.

Step 1:

In the Data Manager , you filter records based on what ever condition you are looking for. Add the filtered records to a Mask.

If you have no masks defined in the Data Manager.

Select Masks table from the top left corner list in the Data Manager and create a Mask.

Once you finished creating the Mask, go back to the Main table and add the Filtered records to the created mask.

(Select all the records right click and select Add to Mask and select the Mask).

Step 2:

a. For New Role:

1. In the MDM Console for that particular repository, create a new role and in the role details grid, select Table/Fields tab and look for Masks table. In the Constraints column, you select the Mask you created in the Data Manager.

2. Assign the created role to the user.

b. For Existing Role:

In MDM console select the role in the repository and

in the role details grid, select Table/Fields tab and look for Masks table. In the Constraints column, you select the Mask you created in the Data Manager.

Hope this helps.