cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pros and Cons of Proxy Vs (Idoc/RFC)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Can I find a Detailed document that lists the Advantages and DisAdvantages of Proxy Vs (IDOC/RFC).

2) When to use a Proxy and when not?

Trying to preapre a case study on the above topic. Your support will help me a lot.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

MichalKrawczyk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

hi,

as far as I know there's only one "document"

my weblog

/people/michal.krawczyk2/blog/2006/04/19/xi-rfc-or-abap-proxy-abap-proxies-with-attachments

Regards,

michal

RafaelVieira
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Michael,

great weblog with streight explanation.

I'm a PI consultant and I already know that differences (as well as their adjvantages).

However, my client would like to see the SAP Note containing such information.

Do you know what note is that ?

I spent a lot of time searching, but untill now I didn't find it.

Thanks a lot,

Rafael Vieira.

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

moorthy
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Rohini,

RFC and Proxy:

RFC/BAPI has its own overhead of function call.

Proxies communicate with the XI server by means of native SOAP calls over HTTP .RFC does not, so you have to convert from SOAP to RFC calls and vice versa. So XML conversion is required.

ABAP Proxies uses Webservice and Http Protocols.

If you use ABAP Proxy , you can reduce the overhead calling the function again and again

Also go thru this thread-

Also go thru this blog-

/people/ravikumar.allampallam/blog/2005/08/14/choose-the-right-adapter-to-integrate-with-sap-systems

Proxy and Idoc:

IDOC : After recieving the strucutred data It processes it using a Function Module associated with it.

Proxy : Proxy is a structure where there is no processing function module associated. You need to explicitly write the Business Logic/Call the subroutines here

This may be one way of explaining..

Regards,

Moorthy