Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CUA, SSO and Portal

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Guys,

I'm a security guy, with CUA, Portal and SSO - but when it comes to installation of CUA and SSO with Portal, I have some gaps in my knowledge, so I could use a little help. Thanks in advance.

My client is implementing a non SAP SSO solution. As I've seen it before, it would be best to have that solution authenticate to the EP, and have EP issue tickets to the various SAP systems, and set up the SSO in that fashion. Would I be correct in my line of thought and do you have any more information on this?

Second, in my experience, CUA and SSO are quite separate, and so you don't need to implement one prior to the other. Would I be correct on this line of thought as well?

Third, on the Portal, is there a note number or a document from SAP that illustrates how to go about integrating Portal into CUA? I know that the portal roles are Java based and assigned via the UME, whereas CUA would have regular SAP roles.

Thanks,

Santosh Krishnan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

tim_alsop
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Santosh,

I am not 100% clear what you are asking about ? I can see that your client has a non SAP SSO solution in place. Are you just looking at a way to authenticate users who have authenticated out side of SAP and using this non SAP SSO solution to be able to logon to portal without having to re-authenticate ? If so, we need to know what this non SAP SSO product is and how it works, and what protocols/standards it supports. For example, does it support SAML ?

Thanks,

Tim

25 REPLIES 25

Former Member
0 Kudos

There are 2 special cases for using CUA with SSO for portals, but generally for a new implementation I would look into an IdM.