Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

webdynpro vs bsp (newbie question)

former_member201275
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi all,

Please note I have searched the forum but can't find a definitve answer.

I am new to webdynpro and bsp and have a very basic question. We have an exisiting ess/mss portal, to the ess we are going to add a button which when the user clicks it should show various data for eg their pension contributions. This will simply be a page to display information, no interfacing or anything else required.

To create this page is it best to use the webdynpro or bsp?

Thank you.

regards,

Warren.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

hi

refer the related threads on SDN :

https://forums.sdn.sap.com/click.jspa?searchID=2273009&messageID=3093238

https://forums.sdn.sap.com/click.jspa?searchID=2273009&messageID=3219883

also go thru this helpful link on SDN :

[original link is broken]

1)BSP and WebDynpro are used for the development of web-based applications.

2)With BSP, we would need the comprehensive knowledge in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript etc.

In BSP, ABAP - based script code &HTML are combined whereas in Webdynpro for ABAP,

We would need expertise in ABAP and the Webdynpro for ABAP framework would generate HTML code for you and your application would be rendered in web browsers.

3)We can consider BSP in similar lines to Java Server Pages or Active Server Pages.

4)The implementation in BSP programming is complex and one also has to do with granular details like HTTP Request/Response ,which is not the case with Webdynpro and framework does it for us.