cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compare different ways of customize Web Dynpro ABAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I'm new to WDA and now in a project upgrading to SRM7. When we want to customize the screen such as remove or disable an UI element, I found that there are four possible ways:

1. Enhancement Implementation of WDC - remove UI element

2. Component Configuration - set invisible of UI element

3. Class enhancement - insert Pre-exit or Post-exit of method to set UI element property visible to abap_false

4. Method enhancement - add coding in enhancement to set UI element property visible to abap_false

Can anyone compare above 4 approaches and what is the pros and cons? Thanks.

Regards,

Donald

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Donald,

I have used Component Configurations, I feel it is better since you can switch on/off the features without much of coding.

You can enable a disabled feature in furture.

Regards,

Mayank

Former Member
0 Kudos

All the other ways require you to do extra coding, which is again the same that you will do with component configurations.

Component Configuration will be easier for anyone else to maintain by anyone else.

Former Member
0 Kudos

In my opinion also component configuration would be the best approach as it requires no coding,

If we have a change in rendering logic then we can use other options..

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Mayank and Manas,

Thanks for your replies.

1. Enhancement Implementation also does not need coding to remove an UI element, is there any advantage of using Component Configuration?

2. In case I need to customize several things on a same WDC which including switch off UI elements and some coding to a new feature, should I:

- use only Enhancement Implementation or class/method enhancement; or

- use Component Configuration to switch off UI element + above enhancement for the new feature

Regards,

Donald

Former Member