cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shared Mobile Devices and access to the database

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello all. I am fairly new to the MI 7.1 details, and have a question regarding shared devices. Because I am a novice, my question may not be clear so please feel free to ask any questions to bring things to light.

We are in a situation where more than one user will make use of a single device (laptop, handheld, etc.) at separate times. I am curious as to how this will work within the MAXDB database on the laptop. I know multiple users can be assigned to a single device, but what are the limitations as far as accessing the DB?

For example, if user A does their work, but doesn't synchronize is it possible for User B to access that information from the device, and if so, how do we set things up to identify who made the last change, etc. Also, how do we do this so that a generic user ID is not required - we want them to log into the device with their user ID, and via SSO access the mobile client. I know the SSO is possible, but what are the requirements for two users to share the database on a single device without causing conflicts, etc.?

If anyone can point to documentation on sharing devices that would also be greatly appreciated.

I hope this is clear, and I look forward to any input.

Cheers!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

In 7.1 if two or more users share a device the actual modification will be done in the context of user who has synchronize the changes. so if you want to capture who has done the changes the user needs to sync before he logs out.

Regards,

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you Rohit.

That makes it clear as far as the sync goes, but if the user A doesn't sync, will user B still be able to access the information recorded by User A?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,