cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Backup of MaxDB using Database Studio

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am new to MaxDB and Database Studio and I am trying to do my first backup of a MaxDB database using this tool.

I read some MaxDB documentation and choose to follow a "Backup and Restore How To" posted in an SAP blog.

But while trying to do it, some errors occured.

I created a Backup Template:

- Backup Type: COMPLETE DATA

- Device Type: FILE

- Device: a full path as "D:\SomeBackupFolder"

I then clicked on start for doing the backup. After a while, i got the following error message:

"An error occurred during the backup.

-903 Host file I/O error 3,Data backup failed Servertask Info: because Error in backup task occured Job 1 (Backup / Restore Medium Task) [executing] WaitingT184 Result=3700 Error in backup task occured, Error code 3700 "hostfile_error" Backupmedium #1 (D:\Backup_D1S) I/O Error Backup error occured, Error code 3700 "hostfile_error"

To start the backup correct the problem. Make the specified medium available and choose 'Start'."

Then when I came back for changing the Backup Template, another error message is displayed:

"Runtime environment error

1, OS error: 'No space left on device'"

And then, if I try to create a new Backup Template (as previous is not there anymore), I get again this error message.

I checked, and the first problem may be a problem of disk space in disk 😧 where I want my backup file to be saved. So here come my questions:

1. Is there a way to know before the backup how many space will require the backup file? Is this backup file going to be compressed? Am I on the right way thinking that the first error might be a problem of space in the destination device (D:\)?

2. Concerning the second error message, where are the backup templates saved? Anyone know which device are we talking about?

Any help would be appreciated very much. Thank you in advance.

Xavier Monnet.