cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to display error message on the screen

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to WD world and need all possible steps to resolve the following issue.

I need to display the error message on the screen if any required field is empty when user click on SAVE button.

I have set the attribute GO_MESSAGE_MANAGER and check the both box for PUBLIC and REFTO and set the associated type IF_WD_MESSAGE_MANAGER under COMPONENTCONTROLLER.

Under the method of COMPONENTCONTROLLER set the value WD_THIS-GV_NAV_FORBIDDEN = IV_NAV_FORBIDDEN. Which is type IMPORTING of associated type WDY_BOOLEAN.

GV_NAV_FORBIDDEN has been set to attribute WDY_BOOLEAN in the COMPONENTCONTROLLER.

Under the ACTION (on SAVE button) of my default view (VW_DEFAULT) I am doing the following.

IF lv_f_name IS INITIAL

CALL FUNCTION 'BALW_BAPIRETURN_GET2'

EXPORTING

type = 'E'

cl = 'HRRCF0002'

number = '020'

IMPORTING

return = ls_return.

lv_message = ls_return-message.

• NEED TO PUT CODE TO PASS IT ON

ENDIF.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

The thing I can not figure out is the input parameter of this call. My CONTEXT has a node1->node2->node3->f_name.

CALL METHOD lo_message_manager->report_attribute_error_message

EXPORTING

message_text = lv_message

element = HOW WIILL YOU FIND THE VALUE OF THIS

attribute_name =

• params =

• msg_user_data =

• is_permanent = ABAP_FALSE

• scope_permanent_msg = CO_MSG_SCOPE_CTXT_ELEMENT

• msg_index =

• cancel_navigation =

• is_validation_independent = ABAP_FALSE .

wd_comp_controller->set_navigation_forbidden( iv_nav_forbidden = abap_true ).

Former Member
0 Kudos

you dont need those other extra inputs those are optionals, you are fine with only lv_message or you can do 'ENTER THE MESSAGE AS TEXT MESSAGE' either way is correct.