cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best Practice for Debugging Code

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi!

I am new to development in Crystal. What method do you recommend to verify my formulas are doing what I expect? For example, in other environments I would print or prompt the result.

What is the best approach in Crystal?

Any help you can provide will be appreciated.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

I just tried Carl's suggestion of using the debug statement but must be doing something wrong because I am just getting a "division by zero" prompt as a result, no values.

Any ideas what I forgot to do?

Former Member
0 Kudos

You could try using alerts.

Fuskie

Who expects Crystal Reports does not really have breakpoint/debug support since it is primarily a linear data processor rather than programming code...

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm sorry, I should have mentioned to put this at the BOTTOM of the formula, not at the top. The values displayed are what they are at the point of the divide by zero error. If the division is first thing in the formula, none of the other calculations have been performed yet... (Actually, you want to put it at the exact point where you want the breakpoint. That can be in the middle of the formula.)

HTH,

Carl

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Never mind, Carl. I realize now I wasn't looking in the left pane. Your suggestion works.

Thank you!

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Carl,

I must still be doing something wrong as it still isn't working for me. Can I use your suggestion within a custom function?

Below is my code:

Function cdQSIPeriod () As String

dim debug as number

dim YY as number

dim MM as number

YY = Year(CurrentDate)

MM = Month(CurrentDate)

If MM = 1 then

MM = 12

YY = YY - 1

else

MM = MM - 1

End If

cdQSIPeriod = MM&YY

debug = debug / debug

End Function

Any help you can provide will be appreciated.

Former Member
0 Kudos