cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JCo server programming, properties and connection settings

Former Member
0 Kudos

Greetings, SAP professionals.

The reason I come to this forum is that I'm hoping to gain some insights into the use of the SAP Java Connector (JCo). I am a developer who was tasked with making a new component for a systems integration application. As is typical of integration software, our app can link together various different systems using a variety of protocols, as well as providing the means to apply business logic on messages passed from one location to another. We already have a connector acting as an SAP client which was implemented using JCo. Now, we were asked to develop a new component: a server capable of accepting RFCs from a remote SAP system acting as client. The server is to be created using the JCo classes, so basically an extension of JCo.Server, with some logic for creating function templates from configuration files.

However, while I'm understanding the structure of the Java API, it's not entirely clear to me just what the classes do. I've found the JavaDoc for JCo to be mostly descriptive of the interface of classes and methods, but not really explaining what these achieve, or how. So I'm hoping to be set straight, as I fear I'm kind of misunderstanding the functionality of JCo... Being mainly an integrations developer, I unfortunately often have to settle for gaining a superficial knowledge of a variety of systems to quickly interface with them, so I don't have any prior knowledge of SAP but still need to be able to implement something with JCo without too much delay.