cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call a componetnt from a view in an eventhandler of the view

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

im new in WebDynpro and i have a (simple) question. Is it possible to call a property of an component in the code of an eventhandler?

I have a View with a button and a TextBox (input box) and a label. In the eventhandler of the Button _ Click i want to read the TextBox value and put it into the label. (I know the Context. But thats not the way I want to use / try)

An other question is: How I can set components visible/ or not visible? (in the eventhandler of my action button)

THX at all

regards Michael

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Micheal,

As per my understanding UI element Property can be accessed in doModifyView Method of the View as it has a IWDView view as an input parameter through which we can retrieve any UI element and Then set or get its properties.

You can do one thing that you can declare a variable of IWDView or a particular UI element and Initialize the same in the doModifyView method as it is a hook method it will be called automatically at start of the Initialization of the view. You can also the use the firstTime input parameter in the method to initialize it only once. After that the same variable can be used in any method or the event handler. Here is a same Code.

Globally declared variable

private IWDLabel label1;

In doModify Method

if(firstTime)
{
   label1= (IWDLabel) view.getElement("FieldName");
}

In the Event Handler:

label1.setText(wdContext.currentContext.getInputFieldContextAttribute);

Hope this works. If any query revert back.

Regards,

Ardhendu

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hy,

That was something I thought.

I was thinking of the paralle. NET programming. In the code behind directly access the UI and edit the event handlers. Maybe I just do not see the parallel.

I will try your way. How would you show or hide an view?