cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Tools vs. SQLTrace and TKPROF

Former Member
0 Kudos

Experts,

First let me say that I am NOT an oracle expert, I am a basis person. Such is the reason I come seeking wisdom.

We are undergoing somewhat of a knee-jerk performance analysis, based on some user complaints. Our new-to-the-organization dba (who has no experience in SAP) is wanting to set up a small performance tablespace within our Production ECC DB and use sql trace and tkprof to analyze what ever it is that they are wanting to look at.

In the past we have been slightly more methodical about tracking down the problem, and then analyzing it based on traces and information within the ST* and DB* tools of SAP.

my 2 questions are:

- Is there any concern with setting up perf gathering tablespace within the production DB

- Does SQLTrace and TKProf give information not readily available within SAPs performance and administration txn's? (DBACockpit, ST* tools, Etc.)

(edit: environment is Solaris 10 64-bit/Oracle 10.2.0.2 64-bit e2900 64/GB Mem)

Thank you in advance,

Phillip

Edited by: Phil May on Oct 9, 2009 1:47 PM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

fidel_vales
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hi,

More or less, what your DBA wants to do is explained on the SAP Note 613872 "Oracle traces with ORADEBUG" and 654176 "Analyzing Oracle trace files with TKPROF"

Looking at them you will understand what he is trying to do. Probably they want to use something similar to oradebug as there are other options to activate the traces, but I recommend to take a look at the note as it is very important to be able to "lock" the SAP workprocess in order to do the trace on the correct session.

what I do not know is why they need a extra tablespace.

regarding your questions:

> - Is there any concern with setting up perf gathering tablespace within the production DB