cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Webdynpro Application gives dns_server_failure Error

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Friends,

I am new to WDA, I am currently trying to implement the Flash Island elearning : [Flash Islands eLearning #1|http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/elearn?rid=/library/uuid/c060b283-4a8d-2b10-b0a0-d85040140318&overridelayout=true] , but I get the error when I try to test the application.

The error is Network Error (dns_server_failure)

Your request could not be processed because an error occurred contacting the DNS server.

The DNS server may be temporarily unavailable, or there could be a network problem.

For assistance, contact your network support team.

I have checked the transaction SICF, but all the nodes are active.

Could you please let me know what could be the error here? Thanks in Advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

thomas_jung
Developer Advocate
Developer Advocate
0 Kudos

It sounds like the hostname you have supplied for your system is not accessible on the network. You should contact your basis administrators if this is a system they manage. Generally the URL is generated using the profile parameter icm/host_name_full. If you have supplied an entry here that isn't in your corp. Domain Name Servers (DNS) then a lookup can not be done to cross reference the hostname of the URL to the IP Address of your server. If this is a local installation on your personal machine, consider editing the hosts file in your windows/system32/drivers/etc folder. Map your IP address to the hostname you have supplied to your ABAP system to bypass the DNS lookup.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Thomas,

Thanks for your prompt response. Yes you are right, Domain Name Servers (DNS) is not in my corp. Could you please help me on how a lookup can not be done to cross reference the hostname of the URL to the IP Address of the server.

Nonconformist Pagal

P.S: This isnt a local installation.

thomas_jung